Yukon Facts

Yukon is a place where nature works on a larger scale. Here are some facts to help you learn more.


One of three Canadian territories, Yukon is situated in the northwest corner of Canada's continental mainland.

It sits between the Canadian province of British Columbia and the Arctic Ocean, with Alaska to the west and the Northwest Territories to the east.

The Arctic Circle crosses through the Yukon and the territory has 430 kilometres of shoreline along the Beaufort Sea.


At 483,450 square kilometres (186,661 square miles), the Yukon is larger than California and covers more area than Belgium, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands combined. It represents 4.8% of Canada's total land area.

Our name - Yukon

The name “Yukon” originated from the Locheux native word "Yuk-un-ah," meaning "Great River," referring to the Yukon River that flows across the territory into Alaska.


As of December 2016, there were 38,293 people living in the Yukon. Of those, 29,617 were living in the capital city of Whitehorse.

Official Bird and Flower

Our official bird is the raven and our flower is fireweed. These aren't just symbolic—they're everywhere! You'll see ravens throughout the Yukon any time of the year, and it's the subject of many First Nations stories. In summer our forests, riverbeds and roadsides are ablaze with magenta fireweed.


Yukon’s dry, continental climate results in a wide variety of weather year-round. Humidity is very low, so summers can be hot and dry while our winter coldness is less harsh than in damper climates.

Our Capital City - Whitehorse

Whitehorse is Yukon’s capital and a major northern hub. It enjoys facilities, services and businesses far beyond the expectation of a city of 30,000. It's a big little city surrounded by wilderness with the amenities of a much larger destination paired with the friendly demeanour of a close-knit community.

You May Also Like